is HCl step needed?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bswartzwelder

I have quite a bunch of cell phone boards which I am getting ready to process. Once I have removed everything which will come off with my heat gun, the question is: Do I soak the boards in HCl to remove the solder or just place them in AP? Is there any advantage to using the HCl twice or would just a dunk in AP do the same thing? Not looking to reinvent the wheel, just don't want to take a shortcut which may not work as planned.

I'm no expert, but I believe AP does remove solder. Although you may want to remove solder first with straight hcl so you can remove the solder mask with a lye solution in case there is any gold traces under the mask. I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong, but that's how I would go about it.

-Ian

Again I'm no expert but if I had a choice I'd remove tin before any other process, if it gets through to your gold solution you will understand why :twisted:

If there are BMs you must do it.
Some BMs get dissolved by simple HCl, then PMs (such as copper the lowest) need oxydizing acids or acid plus oxidizer to dissolve them.
If you dunk you scrap into AP, the BMs will go into solution, blocking the copper or at least part of it to get dissolved.
It is as if you have a plane and you tell all passengers that they can use the First class. What will happen?
First class will be full, while noone wants to go into econmy for the same price.
You should treat your scrap with a non-oxidizing acid first, then remove the solution and therefore remove the basemetals. Then you go next step and remove the first precious metal (Copper) with an oxydizing solution such as AP or dilute nitric etc.
Then you advance and dissolve silver and up....