lost and time sensitive in recovery of gold and silver AR

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jbmwsu

Hi, new to the forum. Thank you for your replies in advance. I am not a chemist, I've just been scraping to pay the rent (and school loans :(. Please keep this in mind if you reply.This is my first time using nitric to dissolve silver and first time using aqua regia. I've read and read and watched Youtube and missed one, very essential part of the process. I had some scrap sterling and a lot of gold-filled jewelry about 3 pounds in all that I wanted to recovery/refine. I gave it all a nitric bath yesterday filtered out the liquid and noticed that some of the sterling didn't dissolve. I took out the sludge and large pieces and put them in AR about 30 minutes ago. The liquid I poured off was bluish but very very dark in color, not like the silver chloride as I have seen. I went ahead and put a piece of copper in to see if it would cement, nothing. I then put some non-iodized salt in to see if that would do the trick, nothing. I am out of state doing this project and have to return home early tomorrow morning, but I would like to finish up the job before I go home or at least get it to where I can transport it. I know that there is a lot of gold and silver in this batch just from doing the math, I just don't know what to do about getting it out now. I feel like I've wasted a lot of Nitric and have nothing to show for it. Very discouraged right now. A quick reply would be more than kind.

Yep you wasted a lot of nitric and confused processes and made your life a lot harder. you need to put in Cu bar. set aside and read hoke the forum guided tour and read it again.

You have lots of silver chloride mixed in your gold.

The steps are here to get your gold but you must do the reading.

Eric