Lost my gold during the process!?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pro003

Hi all,

As you can see I'm a new guy here and this is my first post. I'm a newbie in gold recovering and I have done few batches in the past few days and something totally weird came up along the way. I had 200 grams of cut offs from ram memory and from pci cards. I wanted to try a method with 2 parts of HCl 38% and 1 part of Hydrogen Peroxide 3%. I saw this tutorial somewhere on the internet. Anyways, I pour the 2 dl of HCl followed by 1 dl of H.Peroxide. Fingers from pci cards and memory chips were already in the glass container. I supposed to wait 24-48 hours for process to complete. Unfortunately I did see some of the gold falling off the parts but most of them were stuck on these fingers. I realize that something was wrong. So what I did next was taking out the solution and let only fingers with the rest stuff in the container. I decided to go with another method which I tried and the results were ok, and that is 1 half of destiled water and 1 half of Nitric Acid 65%. The reaction was instant and the bubbling started and the liquid turned to dark blue/green. I supposed to let this stew for 8-9 hours, I let it even more few hours. Well today I said I am going to filter and wash the gold and prepare it for aqua regia. To my great surprise there were no traces of gold in the container, neither on fingers, nor on fingers or on the bottom of container. NONE! It disappeared completely. Not even a smallest particle of gold was found. So this batch was pretty much ruined for me and I left with the question WHAT HAPPENED? Where did this gold gone? How it's possible?

So if anyone here have some thoughts and maybe an answer I would appreciate pretty much an explanation.

Thank you.