Mini AP process, cold weather.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tek4g63

Because this is my first topic I would like to start out by introducing my self.
I'm 31 years old and live in Tennessee. I work industrial maintenance in the automotive manufacturing industry. I only recently started my new hobby recovering and eventually refining PM's from e-scrap. I have posted a few times on this great forum but this is my first time working up the guts to ask a question.

Now let me tell you a bit about my process.
I'm processing small lots of gold plated pins. I believe from what I read on here that these would be considered medium to high grade pins. I have several thousand to process but I'm only processing 100 or so at a time. I process them with the AP method in Masson jars with a fish tank bubbler keeping some dissolved oxygen in the solution. I chose this method because hydrochloric acid (meratic) is inexpensive and easy to come by. Also I don't have the luxury to be able to spend a lot of time all at once to monitor a faster process. I like the " set it and forget it" ease of the AP method. I then use a steel bar to cement the copper from the solution when it is fully saturated. I save this solution, now ferric chloride, to possibably use to continue processing pins when I'm more familiar with using this solution. Up to this point I have had no trouble with this process.

My problem now is, as the weather has began to get quite cold my process has slowed greatly. Also I have noticed that the pins get about half processed then a large amount of white powder starts to form in the bottom of the jar. I believe this is copper I chloride because when I filter the foils and wash with fresh HCL the powder dissolves and the fresh HCL turns black/green.