My gold will not drop

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Donp789

I'm new to gold refining from computers. I removed gold by soaking in meriatic acid and hydrogen peroxide. Filtered it all out. Took the gold foils and liquified them using meriatic acid and bleach. Added Sodium Meta Bisulphite, it fizzed and bubbled, I kept adding till it stopped. Let sit over night and now my solution is still yellow, with tons of Sodium Meta Bisulphite sitting on the bottom. It never turned black or brown like everything I see. What did I do wrong and can I still save my gold?? I had about 6 grams of foils in it.

Did you test the solution with stannous chloride? Is there a dark layer mixed with the white crystals? Did you heat the solution to near boiling and wait for it to cool before adding the SMB. Are you sure you are using SMB? If you are using stump remover, what brand are you using?

Your gold didn't "drop" because you can't reduce gold from solution when chlorine gas is still dissolved in it.

If you used that much SMB then you created an awful lot of sulfur dioxide gas. I hope you did this outside, and I hope you didn't breath any of this. It will make sulfuric acid in your lungs.

Assuming you had gold there to begin with it is still there, but it will be harder to get now. Stick a piece of copper buss bar in the beaker and put it some place safe. Then start reading.

Download a free copy of Hoke's book. You can find the link in the library section. Forget everything you have seen on YouTube, it will only get you hurt.

Welcome to the forum. It is the ONLY place like it. Here you will learn to get that gold out. Not only the correct way but the safe way.

Good luck, happy reading, and be safe!

Ben