Need help identifying ore apparently found in oregon

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

samuelbaldwin010

So, i had someone that I know who has given me (more like pawned off onto me) alot of "suspected" of containing gold ore.
Honestly, I am new to ores, prospecting in general, and I admittedly don't know a ton I those areas, but here's what I DO KNOW, or atleast have learned so far:

This person had gotten this stuff from what he claimed was "a gold assayers office" somehow. Didn't ask a million and one questions and just took it at face value.
This ore has apparently been found somewhere in oregon at an undisclosed area of the state.
Or atleast this is what I was told, again taking it at face value.

This ore is not magnetic/ ferrous, so I don't believe it's pyrite or even containing much if any iron. However, it does appear to have some rust-like oxidation and color on it.

It is a very shiny almost white silvery, underneath the oxidation layer.

It is VERY conductive and relatively heat resistant since it would not melt after I got it red hot by means of running alot of electric current directly through it.

It does have some spots in it that are gold in color, but kind of remind me more of chalcopyrite more than of gold.

It doesn't seem to be effected significantly by sulfuric acid either dilute or concentrated doesn't make a difference.

It doesn't seem to be significantly effected by nitric acid either. And again concentrated or dilute doesn't seem to change much if anything.

I have not tried hydrochloric, Aqua Regia, or any of the other common acids we typically use, other than what's been previously mentioned. nor have I tried using any strong and/or caustic alkaline of any kind. So I am unable to tell if those would or wouldn't effect it in anyway.