Need help please

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

J0ker

Obviously,i am new to the forum.. So hello to everyone.

I have been processing finger boards in hci,then disolving them in hci\bleach. I have been using this process successfully,for about 2 yrs now.
So believe me when i tell you i have looked\searched.

My issue is that i came across an unfamiliar source. I mistakenly disolved it in hci\bleach. It turned dark.. Which suggests copper was also in the source. I know that i should have disolved that first. But is there anything i can do now?

Thanks

J0ker said:
Obviously,i am new to the forum.. So hello to everyone.

I have been processing finger boards in hci,then disolving them in hci\bleach. I have been using this process successfully,for about 2 yrs now.
So believe me when i tell you i have looked\searched.

My issue is that i came across an unfamiliar source. I mistakenly disolved it in hci\bleach. It turned dark.. Which suggests copper was also in the source. I know that i should have disolved that first. But is there anything i can do now?

Thanks
J0ker, welcome to the forum. You can find answers to all your questions here, but it will take some study.

There is no such think as hci, or hci\bleach. I assume you mean HCl. It is important to get chemical formulas correct here, as a mistake could cost someone their life.

If you've been processing fingers for 2 years, you really should have some idea of how to handle minor problems by now. Since you're new here, I am going to assume you haven't had the chance to do all that looking and searching here.

You say your solution turned dark, but you don't say what color. Why do you assume it's copper? Many metals could cause a solution to turn dark, some of them quite valuable.