Need help with recovering my gold in smelting process

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Forbes1114

So im pretty new at this gold scrapping and the whole process. I had just got a smelting kit and have smelter or at least tried a few time now with no luck at all. This would be a super long post to go through all the processes but the last smelt I did I made sure that there was good in it and the end result was well. ..glass/slag. But it looks really yellow. What's going on? ? I have a few bags of all this smelted...stuff. I'm stumped. Am I not getting it hot enough or what. Cause it comes out like water. Pleas e help

Hi

Welcome to the forum. Please tell us what are you smelting and fluxes used?

Regards
Kj

I'm sorry about that. It's gold from scrap electronics. So it's plate. And I'm using borax flux from amazon.is there anything else needed to separate the gold or is there not enough or what? I'm stuck on my next step. I've already smelted one batch twice thinking that it wasn't hot enough but that's not the problem. It's not pure either. One batch I just threw in the gold along with the filters and all, just ripped off the access. I watch too much u tube I think. Lol.

Forbes1114,
Welcome to the forum.
Too much watching you tube, and not enough time reading Hokes book and study of this forum, has left you with a lot of misinformation, you may have ideas of how things might work but in reality they most likely behave very differently, forget about what you think might work, or what you seen in videos.

Put up your flux, and your chemistry set, hold onto your scrap for now, and spend your time most wisely, by educating yourself with Hokes book, and the forum,.