Need some help -first time refining-

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

Hey all.

Im a jeweler, and I'm looking to refine some of my scrap around the shop.

Just as a test sample I have 2 troy ounces of Au in various alloys. Have some white some yellow, and so on all mixed together. I know I can get the gold into solution by using a mix of HCl and HNO3 but that's the extent of my knowledge. Can anyone help with a simple method of getting to .99 Au so I can realloy it? Have some chem in college so im not scared of formulas :) Thanks in advance.

Best Regards
Phil

Phil,

Welcome to the forum.

Here's the 50,000 foot overview of the process:

Since your gold is likely a mix of 10 and 14 kt scraps and you are new to refining, you should inquart the scrap as demonstrated in my inquarting video on my website:

http://goldrecovery.us

After inquarting, dissolve the silver out of the 6kt alloy in hot 35% nitric acid as seen in my Separating Gold and Silver video on the same site.

After you get the silver out, dissolve the resulting gold (looks like a brown colored honeycomb/powder) in hot Aqua Reqia (4 parts HCl: 1 Part 70% HNO3 : 1 Part H2O).

You can brush up on the exact details by reading C.M. Hokes Refining Precious Metal Wastes available for download here on the forum. There are a lot of other things you will need, like beakers, burners, filters, testing solutions, etc. You can learn about them in the location listed below.

It wouldn't hurt to take the Guided Tour Link listed in my signature line below, just to get familiar with the terms, testing, and reactions we use here. If you have questions, check the forum search results first, then post a question if you are still not getting anywhere.

Have fun and be safe!

Steve