negative pressure in reaction vessel

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TomVader

Hello everyone, I'm new to all this and would like your input on a strange result. I attempted to make nitric acid by bubbling NOx through a 3% solution of H2O2. I did it just like the Nurdrage video on UTube. My gas generator was a 1000ml filter flask with a stopper in the top and a short length of PVC tubing from the side arm. A bent glass tube ran from the PVC into a 100ml volumetric flask. In the 1000ml flask I put 80g potassium nitrate (stump remover), 50ml water, 32g clean copper wire and 100ml HCl at 31% concentration. In the 100ml flask I put 25ml H2O2 at 3% concentration. The 100ml flask sat in an ice water bath. I know the video recommended H2O2 at 30% concentration but it said using plain water would work but the result would be a weaker acid. The reaction progressed just like in the video for about 15 minutes and then instead of continuing to bubble, the H2O2/nitric started getting sucked up into the glass tube. At first just a little bit and then it would be forced down and make a bubble and then get sucked up again. After about 15 more minutes it was getting sucked up almost to the top of the flask! I don't know how this was possible as the reaction was still going on and (supposedly) still producing gasses. The end result was a very weak nitric acid. Any thoughts? Thank you all in advance for your answers and for your excellent forum.

HHmmm thats how I make it. I use 99% potassium nitrate 110g, 35g copperwire and 150ml of 33% Hcl. It is weak but works and I also use 3% h202. The only other diffrence is I use a 500ml filter flask and a 50ml glass graduated cylinder.

TomVader,