Newbie questions

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

otuslotus

I have been collecting and separating the computer parts for about 4 months now. I have acquired about 9 computers.

#1. Is there any way for someone to tell me approximately how much/many pounds of parts (motherboards, cpu chips, RAM chips, etc) would I need to get one ounce of gold?

#2. What would be the approximate cost of all of the chemicals, heater, beakers, filters, etc that I would need to start this little project?

#3 What is a good price to pay per pound for motherboards/chips/RAM on ebay or from a reseller?

Otus

never buy from Ebay. go to www.boardsort.com and pay about half of what they pay. it takes (on average) 150-200 desktop computers to make an ounce of gold depending on vintage.

otuslotus,

When first starting out, you can easily spend more money than the little gold you can retrieve is worth, there is a learning curve, chemicals can be hard to find at first although most are in the stores around where you live, you do not need to order fancy lab equipment, some kitchen ware, jars and plastic buckets work, you can easily pay more for scrap than the trash is worth, lose in values can be higher when processing because of inexperience, you can be tempted to jump in before you are ready, trying things you have not researched well enough and wonder why it is not working, or begin to wonder where all of that gold you seen on the material go (it just vanished).

And that is just the beginning.

Best way to avoid some of these troubles, collect material and study, learn what you really need before buying, learn the value of scrap, or where to find it free, learn how to sort, prepare, recover and refine, learn which process works best for which materials, learn what chemicals you need and how to use them safely, learn where to get what you need.