Newcomer needs Experienced Insight on Unknown Crystals

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Greetings all!

First let me say that this forum is amazing for its open, collegial atmosphere and top-notch information. I am an analytical chemist, but so much of this gold refining technique is more art than science that I think I need some help from a more experienced hand on some reoccurring white crystals that don't act like the usual suspects. I've tried to search for an answer in the forums, but I haven't come across any pertinent information yet. Some back-story may help in figuring out what happened...

I made a 1.11g "gold" button a year or so ago out of unpopulated flexible circuit boards salvaged from the dumpster. My (uninformed) process was to etch away the backing copper/solder from gold traces with nitric. Once filtered and rinsed I melted the "gold". The end result was a cruddy, oxide-surfaced button that needed to be polished with crocus cloth before it really looked golden. Obvious to me now, the button was probably highly contaminated.

Flash forward about a year when I started reading this forum and Hoke, and realize that I had made some very rookie mistakes. So I restarted by dissolving the button in HCl-Cl. Right off, I notice a LOT of white crystals forming in the yellow solution as the button slowly decreased in size. "Right, it must be silver", I think to myself, as silver chloride is insoluble and can inhibit the attack of gold. However, upon filtering off the crystals and rinsing with water, all of the crystals redissolved. "Ok, it can't be silver chloride. It must be slightly soluble lead chloride, I'll catch the lead with sulfuric acid in a later step", I thought.