Nitric 70% or AP

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tauran

hi guys and gals

i've been absorbing as much of this wonderful forum as i can and there is a question i still can't find the answer to.

i am dealing with about 3lbs of assorted plated pins from motherboards mostly from pci and DIMM slots, basically very low grade scrap.

my question is is it better to digest the pins in nitric acid to remove the base metals or am i better off using the AP method.

the cost of Nitric in australia is quite cheap (a 5 gallon bottle costs $65) so it's equally as economical as the Ap method.

i've had some success with nitric followed by AR however it's quite dangerous so i'm looking for something a little safer.

this noob would really appreciate some expertise on the matter.

matt

I'm no expert on e scrap but I think most members would suggest the AP method, it's advantages are that it is re usable and if done right will give you a good product for final refining. The other way to do pins is through the sulphuric cell which you will find on Lazersteves site, this again is a re usable method but has slightly more dangers as your using 95%+ sulphuric. Nitric will work but produces lots of hazardous fumes and will be considerably more expensive.
I suggest you do plenty of studying here on the forum and read the forum handbooks which outlines many of the processes commonly used by the members, your scrap pile will only get bigger while you find which method suits your needs.

Thanks for the info.

My problem with using the AP method is that i'm not dealing with very large foils. Many of the pins are only plated at the tip so the foils are almost microscopic.

i've read most of Hoke's book and the majority of forum topics, however i can't find anyone who is dealing wth only partially plated pins