No precipitated out of solution

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sandy218

Hi I'm new to this but I'm learning, I dissolved my gold findings, cpu and goldplated pins in Aqua Regia, the solution turned a deep emerald green color, I then neutralized the acid with Urea, after that I use cooper to make the gold drop, nothing happen, no mud at the bottom of the solution, I tested and it still have gold in it, where did I go wrong act and what do I need to do to get the gold out. Please help! Thanks in Advance.

Copper is generally used to drop the gold in waste solutions after the majority has been precipitated by more efficient methods.

I think you need to do some more reading.

stannous test good you tested, it can be a very sensitive test, was it a violet color? if so then nitric must be low enough in solution, as too much nitric will redissolve the tin chloride and gold reaction, will not show up in your test or dissapear.
the gold can cement and/or plate to copper.
If High nitric content copper will just dissolve adding copper to your dissolved gold solution and gold may not cement.

if solution too basic gold again may not cement from solution.

I agree I need to read a lot more but I need to know what should I do to get my gold out. I don't want to lose it. The cooper did dissovle in the solution I also filter out the waste before I put the cooper in the solution. I thank you guy for your help.

First read up on HOKE’S BOOK, then you would not have question as how do I get my gold back.

Use this as a learning experience, learn to use stannous chloride test.

You may or may not have gold in solution, without testing you will never know only be guessing, and may just be guessing wrong most of the time, it could be with any metals you did not dissolve or in the fitered materials you had?????