Noob Questions

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ssparks258

I have just recently joined this forum and I have spent a lot of time browsing through and searching these forum for answers to my questions and while I have been able to find some great information I get confused when reading all these different post. Some things seem to contradict other and I do not want to do anything without being 100% sure. So I hope that this does not break any rules of this site. I apologize ahead of time if I am doing so. I just don't like doing anything without direct answers about my exact situation.

I have recently become interested in scrapping precious metals and I already have quite a collections. I work in a factory that actually produces circuit boards and I have easy access to their e-waste and have collected things I feel I can profit from. I have fully populated circuit boards, Un-populated circuit boards (with tons of gold plating), computer servers, ram, CPU's, and much more. So here are my questions:

1. I am going to use the A/P process to recover the gold from all gold fingers I have (ram boards, PCI boards, ect.). Now I also have a lot of gold leads. From the information I have gathered I can use a hot hcl process to remove the gold from them. Reverse electroplating seems interesting but as a noob I want to try less advanced processes until I feel comfortable with it. I want to be sure that this process is the correct one to use.

2. Now I watched a video today on lazersteve's website about removing solder mask which seems pretty basic so now I am going to get a lot more bare circuit boards from work that were masked. With the bare circuit boards is it alright to use the A/P process or should I use something different? From my understanding it should work the same as gold finger but like I said I want to be 100% sure before I do this.