Normal AP behaviour

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TA

Hello everyone, yet another newbie here. First post.

I have been reading for some time now and I am currently doing first tests in test tubes and small beakers.

I have been able to dissolve material with AP and I have tried to observe the different states of AP but I have not yet figured out what's normal and desirable and what's not.

I have done tests with some connector pins with gold plating. My HCL is 33 % technical grade bought from a drug store and my H2O2 is 9 % also from a drug store. So they should be OK.

I first made very small tests in a test tube. 5-6 pins and a few ml of HCL plus a few drops of H2O2. Quite quickly the color turned nice green and then darker and darker. After it was completely "black" I added a drop or two of H2O2 and green color returned and the process seemed to accelerate. Soon it was black again. The fluid seemed to have some golden flakes in it. I managed to fush some of them with water and HCL and even I managed to dissolve them in HCL-CL. Never got anything precipitated (except some salt) nor I got any result with stannous but it could be the sample was just so small (appr. 0.3 grams of pins).

Another couple tests went the same way.