not sure if I can ever get it back

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BJL1984

Greetings, I am new to this gold recovery and refining thing, and was looking for a what i thought would be a safe way to do it, well long story short, I went to Shor industries and bought their refining system with the "Nitric acid suplement", I was processing goldfingers from e-scrap, and after taking a week to prep everything i had, (Removing as much of the fingers as I could off the boards with a razor blade)ended up with about a pound of material, I followed the instructions with the kit and processed the material it all dissolved and neutralized with urea now I have about a gallon of whats looks like coca cola I have filtered it so it is free of floating matter, which I saved just incaes messed something up and no matter how much SMB I put to it I get nothing, I have now read hokes book, and am thinking about doing the process of boiling it down and adding HCL to get rid of extra Nitric, Can anyone give me some insite on weather this is a good idea, the othr thing is when i called shor, they said if the percipitant they sent dosent work, which i assume is SMB as far as I can test it to be, to drop all the metal with aluminum foil, at which point i would do the smart thing and prep with nitric acid and then use AR to get results the old fashioned way, I have been stressing over this for quiet a while and hope I have not lost my gold anybits of help would be greately appreciated Thank You

Hi BJL1984

Start here:
http://goldrefiningforum.com/phpBB3/search.php?st=0&sk=t&sd=d&sr=posts&keywords=shor+problem

I would assume this to be an aqua regia solution loaded with base metals; there can also be a possibility of un-reacted salts like nitrates, sulfates and chlorides.