oxidized metals

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

avilanch2000

Ok so im new at this. i purchased a bar of melted pins. it has all the copper and junk melted in with it. there is clearly gold in the mix. I dont have access to much in way of chemicals. i statarted by trying to use bleach mixed with vinigar to disolve it but it just took off some of the surface and not much more. didnt expeft much but when i tried to remelt it thaats when the problem started. when it got hot the surface cracked and out poured the melted insides leaving a shell of the oxidized metal like a roasted marshmellow. then almost instantly the melted material re oxidized and turned into a kind of umm. its like a batter with not enough water in it. its obviously melted but gritty and all stuck together. you can see the gold in it but i cant get the crap out. i cant even get it to melt any more. im not sure what to do. i have only limited access to chemicals. bleach vinigar salt hcl drain uncloger and thats about it. ohh and h2o2.... any ideas?

Indeed, I have many ideas.
The first is, try a forum search "ebay melted pins"!
The second is, follow the guided tour,
the third, download Hoke and read,
the fourth, and read some month in the forum,
and the fifth, use the search engine.

Welcome.

Hi,
Newby here too, but no good news , best, use it as a paperweight.
no easy way , a quick search learned that you could:
melt and make shot from them, dissolve most basemetals in 50/50 nitric acid,
then go A.R.
So you need the acids, the knowledge and safety measures to work with them,
a fume hood, knowledge about,and be able to handle your wastes,
the place and time to do all that and the result will be
Verry verry little gold.
its a scam.
do a search for melted pins and read some of the posts.

If I am wrong I am sorry and this will be corrected verry fast by other members here!