Palladium in solution? Help I'm new

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Smithy

Let me start by saying thank you. This is my first post, but I've been haunting this site for many months. Lots of great information here. I am new to silver refining. I have watched almost all of streetips videos on the subject and made a silver cell very similar to his (only smaller 2.5 liters). My cell is running good, but i ran into a problem today and I can't seem to find the answer anywhere. I just dissolved 890 grams of silver spoons in nitric and my solution is green. I am pretty sure its palladium in solution. I just need confirmation and a question answered. I did a stannous test with solution I made from 95/5 tin/antimony dissolved in hydrochloric acid. My question then is, if it is Palladium, do I need to precipitate it out with DMG before I cement the silver out? Or can I just cement everything out on copper, and then run it through the silver cell? The stannous test looks like silver chloride with palladium. I know you can catch the palladium in the silver cell filters, but will this cause any problems clogging my filters up? I have attached a picture of my solution and my stannous test. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• Solution.jpg
    Solution.jpg
    450.8 KB · Views: 0
  • Stannous.jpg
    Stannous.jpg
    239.9 KB · Views: 1
Why are you sure palladium should be in solution?
Maybe the picture has too low resolution but I do not see any green color in your stannous test that confirm Pd in solution

It is my understanding, that palladium will show up brown with stannous test when dissolved with sterling silver. If not palladium, what could it be? I have a lot to learn. Here is a shot of what my solution normally looks like under the same light.

Attachments

• A50F1905-9157-43B6-9D86-1A82646E8C42.jpeg