Palladium

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jimdoc

Does anybody know what other metal is in the Palladium/Plus school rings? I remember in 1981 when I graduated they were popular, but
I forget what the catalog said about them. I was wondering if they are
alloyed with ruthenium or iridium? Or maybe just rhodium plated?
I have about ten of them, and if they are ten percent ruthenium, that
would add up to a substantial amount with the price where it is now.

Also, would the gold cell work on palladium plated items? Would there need to be any special changes to do so?

I haven't tried the cell on any plated items other than gold. It does work on nickel plate, but the nickel goes into the solution (dissolves). I know this because it removes the nickel undercoat if you leave the plated items in the bath too long.

I'm working on a video of a different kind of cell that will work on karat gold and there is a variation of it for Pt and Pd.

I don't have any info about the rings you asked about.

Steve

Info for any of you guys that have too much time on your hands, and can handle 300lbs or more. I scrap old Hammond organs for the palladium wire. So far I have done 9, and have 18.5 dwt of pure palladium wire that comes off the buss bars, and alot of the contacts cut short but the wire on them is too small to remove so I just clip them as short as possible for later processing.
There are 9 contacts for every key, each have a small piece of palladium wire. The buss bars have a piece of pure palladium wire along the whole lenght and there is 8 of those for each set of keys. I average 2dwt or 1/10 of an ounce from these on M-2's M-3's and 3.5 dwt from an E-182.