Platinum Refining

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spaceman

Hey Guys, I am extremely new to all of this and I was just wondering if you can help me grasp some of the first steps i need to take. I have collected a modest amount of Platinum throw my works and would like to begin on a very small scale to understand the process and hopefully apply it at a larger scale. I want to refine the Platinum to purify and then cast down. So what are the first things I would have to purchase. Such as the chemicals for the regia, preferred heating materials, safety equipment, etc. Also, upon receiving these materials what are some general steps to expect. And what typical chemical ratios do you guys abide by for such a process.

Any insight would help

thank you

spaceman said:
Hey Guys, I am extremely new to all of this and I was just wondering if you can help me grasp some of the first steps i need to take. I have collected a modest amount of Platinum throw my works and would like to begin on a very small scale to understand the process and hopefully apply it at a larger scale. I want to refine the Platinum to purify and then cast down. So what are the first things I would have to purchase. Such as the chemicals for the regia, preferred heating materials, safety equipment, etc. Also, upon receiving these materials what are some general steps to expect. And what typical chemical ratios do you guys abide by for such a process.

Any insight would help

thank you

What type Pt scrap do you have? Thermocouple wire? Jewelry? Or, what?

I don't think platinum is really the best place to start your learning experience from. That is if your not already knowledgeable in the refining process.

Well I have done some preliminary research to grasp the basics.