pondering a problem?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Drowningbodacius

so i posted this question in one of my other posts but i beleive its getting skimmed over...... and thats ok, others have questions to.
so mine is this
is there a difference between Ar and AC/CL in what metals they will dissolve or is the AC/CL method just the cheap mans way of doing the AR method.
the reason i ask i i have several grams of gold fingers and about 70 grams of fiber cpu pins that have been through a hcl soak and washed so is it ok to place the pin feed in with my finger feed and then dissolve with AC/Cl or should i do them sepeeratly using AR on my pins and AC/CL on my fingers
i think i know the answers to this question already but i want to be sure as this is my first time doing this

If you are referring to hcl/cl as AC/CL CL being Clorox bleach
it is actually not a poor mans way but a safe mans way and has been proven
countless times by all on this form

I would do the pins separately from the fingers in case of a problem it is easier to solve

There are those on the form who will swear by the cell for metal based material
but many of us do our metal based in A/P (acid hcl/peroxide) to dissolve all the base metals
then proceed to hcl/bleach with the gold foils
You do not want your auric chloride contaminated with other base metals
witch i doubt your hcl wash is dissolving

To answer your question i have used both A/R and hcl/bleach and can tell no difference
they both put gold into solution in a mater of seconds

food for thought ...70 grams of cpu pins or any pins will barley be visible to the human eye you may want to save more

and fingers i get 1 to 3 grams per pound depending on what fingers they are

disclaimer: I know very little and am new to this get other advise
steyr223 rob 8)