Precip. of gold from sulfite plating solution

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

inspector071

I've been assigned with reclaiming some gold from my university's microelectronics lab. I'm pretty new to reclaiming metals, but have always been very interested in chemistry. I've been doing some reading on the forums before making an account, but haven't found much on these sulfite based solutions.

My lab has some old cyanide and sulfite based plating solutions. I believe I understand how to precipitate the gold from the cyanide solutions, but the sulfite ones are giving me trouble. What's the best way to precipitate gold from the sulfite solutions? Will sodium metabisulfite work? Do I need to adjust the pH?

As for the cyanide solutions, they are already basic (pH 11), so my understanding is that all I need to do is add a little excess of powdered zinc. The gold should fall out of solution and the cyanide then complexes with the zinc. A rinse with a strong acid then dissolves any leftover zinc. I did some reading on this, the Merrill-Crowe process, and saw a step mentioning deoxygenating the solution. Is this necessary in a small, lab based setup, or is it solely important in industry?

You can get a great recovery just plating onto a steel wool cathode.

Stainless is the anode. 3-4 V, as many amps as wont't give a foam.

I assume the pH of the sulfite is 8-10. First try just a small sample, say 25-50ml (measured). Acidify with 10-20% (v/v) sulfuric aid. I don't know what pH to shoot for - a guess would be 1-2. In the sample, I would keep it stirring and add the sulfuric dropwise (keep track of what it took) until all the gold is out. Unless the modern sulfite baths are totally different than the older ones, all the gold should precipitate as a brown powder with simple acidification. Of course, don't try this with the cyanide bath.