Precipitating gold from AR with SMB

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ruan

Hi I'm fairly new to gold refining. I'm concerned about a brown fizzing when i add the SMB to the AR. Could this be a result of too much nitric acid in the AR solution? I have tried to add urea to neutralize it but the brown fizz is still there when i add SMB. If anyone can give me any advise on this, i will be so greatfull.
I have a lot of other questions too to better my technique.

Kind regards
Ruan

Where are the details of what process you used to get to this point ???

ie... type of material ???
amount of material supposedly in solution ???
if you followed set procedures to remove ALL base metals before starting a refining process
Amount of each chemical added to get to where you realized you don't have a clue what you are doing.

Have you thoroughly read Hoke's book dealing with what you are trying to do ???

Start there and figure what you have done wrong. When You can explain that, then you are ready to understand what we might tell you on fixing your mess.

When you add urea did you do so until the fizzing stopped with one or two balls of urea floating around?
If not then you may not have destroyed all the nitric.

Try dissolving your SMB in warm distilled water first and slowing add to the solution.

Also there are sometimes when the reaction of the AR with the scrap gets really hot that looks like if you were boiling your solution... if this happened to you, let it cool to room temperature, when the AR solution is hot, when adding SMB, the SO2 gas particles will go out of the solution really fast and will not precipitate gold as wanted... also try the urea process as mentioned in the upper post.

Hi,