precipitation using SMB

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

seemik

Hi i am new to refining and using this forum too.I have just attempted to precipitate a batch of 9 carrot gold dissolved in AR. I ended up with a beaker of green liquid after dissolving the alloy,i then filtered it and got some powder left behind in the filter which i assume is silver chloride,i then took a small amount off my green liquid into another beaker and added SMB sulfate (too much i think) and i now have some gold flakes floating on top off the beaker with some more at the bottom and plenty off black,brown particles mixed in with it.What is this black,brown stuff and how do i get rid off it,I was going to add some nitric acid but i will wait for an answer first. Plus what's the best way to neutralize AR of any excess acid after dissolving my gold in it.

did you test with stannous chloride? you should test to make sure you still have gold in solution. also you should have tested before you tried to precipitate. if there was any base metal left after the dissolution, theres a chance (a very good chance) that your gold cemented back out of solution and that was the powder you filtered out at the beginning. testing is our friend. it lets us know what is in our solutions so we dont spend time and resources trying to find something thats not there.

No did not test yet,only just found out about stannous,ain't got round to getting any yet(although i think its just tin in hydrochloric).
I kept every think i filtered so it's still there

The black/brown could be some of your gold. In a dirty solution that is the way the gold precipitates. I would try to sink the floating gold, decant the liquid(do not dispose yet) and redissolve with HCl/Cl (Hydrochloric/bleach). Let the solution set overnight to let the chlorine leave and drop again with SMB. Let us know how it goes.