Processing Dental gold with White gold

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lobby

I've been accumulating dental gold for a bit; probably have about 15 grams or so. I've been likewise saving the white gold I have, and was planning on processing them together.

Would you recommend for or against this?

On the one hand, there a possibility of some PGM's in the white gold pieces (ring prongs, etc), but on the other, the elements that give white gold its color (Ni, Zn, etc) might complicate PGM recovery.

As this is my first attempt at PGM refining, I thought I'd ask before turning on the torch.

:lol:

Depending on the PGM content using inquartation could put them into solution with the silver or a good proportion of them which makes cementation and the use of the silver cell the route I'd follow.
Some of the PGMs could well stay with the gold so testing the AR solution would be advisable and again cementation would recover any values which could them be processed with the slimes from your cell.

I have never processed any dental scrap so I could be wrong here but as I understand it because of the mercury used in dental work don’t you first need to put the dental scrap through a retort process to safely remove/recover the mercury before doing any melting (inquartation) &/or before doing any chemical process?

Kurt

kurt said:
I have never processed any dental scrap so I could be wrong here but as I understand it because of the mercury used in dental work don’t you first need to put the dental scrap through a retort process to safely remove/recover the mercury before doing any melting (inquartation) &/or before doing any chemical process?

Kurt