Prospecting Quartz Ore based on Specific Gravity

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sunwell

I have recently started hard rock prospecting in hopes of starting a hobby hard rock mine. I’m no professional and am learning as I go so there will be obvious holes in my question so please feel free to share any education as it will be appreciated and helpful.

I’ve recently prospected a seem of quartz with a specific gravity of 3.28, I’ve come to a dead end with this method in understanding a worthwhile SG.

Pure quartz has a SG of 2.73, impurities range it from 2.71-2.75 the rock was 977~ grams with a volume of 298 mL. We’d expect 814~ grams at a SG of 2.73 which is 163~ grams difference. I’m hoping to crush and dissolve the rock in sulfuric or hydrochloric acid and see what’s left over before furthering refinement with aqua regia.

Love any feedback around my methodology.

I have recently started hard rock prospecting in hopes of starting a hobby hard rock mine. I’m no professional and am learning as I go so there will be obvious holes in my question so please feel free to share any education as it will be appreciated and helpful.

I’ve recently prospected a seem of quartz with a specific gravity of 3.28, I’ve come to a dead end with this method in understanding a worthwhile SG.

Pure quartz has a SG of 2.73, impurities range it from 2.71-2.75 the rock was 977~ grams with a volume of 298 mL. We’d expect 814~ grams at a SG of 2.73 which is 163~ grams difference. I’m hoping to crush and dissolve the rock in sulfuric or hydrochloric acid and see what’s left over before furthering refinement with aqua regia.