Question about acid peroxide method

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

southatl

I'm new to this and have been reading everything i can about gold recovery. I watched steve's video on using ap and thought i could follow along. The ap worked great on the terminals and pins, i filtered out all the loose gold foil, rinsed it off well, then following the video it showed a method of dissolving the gold in acid and chlorine, that also worked well for me, all the foils dissolved and i was able to strain out the last bits of debris from the ap method. My probem now is according to the video, you add some smb dissolved in distilled water and the gold will come out of solution. Well my batch started off as clear bright yellow liquid, and after i added the smb all it did was fizz and turn the solution a dirty brown color with no precipitation. My guess is maybe there is still chlorine present preventing the gold from coming out? What should i do to salvage the mixture now?

You should let the solution with the Clorox set for 24 hours to evaporate the Chlorine, then dilute it with 3 parts clean water before adding the SMB. The brown color is probably the gold precipitating. Let it set over night and it should settle to the bottom of the container. Then proceed with siphoning the solution off.
How much material did you process?

It settled as a brownish powder, but the acid is still a little cloudy. Tested with stannous and it showed a little color, so i think i will let it settle a little longer (it sat overnight) and try the smb again. I didn't have too much foils, maybe a teaspoon full when i started. I was expecting more of a reaction like in lazersteve's video and the gold as a black precipitant.