Question about RAM depopulation with HCL

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bluebloomer

Hi all !

I've got 13 lb of misc PC RAM sticks. Been busy for a while to depopulate them; first with a chisel to remove the MMLC, and then remove the chips.
But as 13 lb is a heck of a lot ram sticks, I was hoping and wondering if it has been done before to remove the MMLC and the chips with hot hcl, and if it's any good or not..

I have been scrapping for the last 5-6 months, breaking each component down to collect what I need but hundreds of these ram sticks are a pain to do at a rate of like 15-20 pcs per hour..

So the idea was to use AP from a previous batch, and bring it to a simmer and wait till it all falls off. Then with a pair of tweezers take the chips out, and collect the MMLC by dropping it in a filter.
I do not realy want to boil it, just make the HCL hot enough to eat the legs of the chips.

Does this give issues with the MMLC to process them later for the Pd / Pt ? Can I just rinse the MMLC and process later, or do I have to process them right away as they are taken out of hot HCL ?
I know monolithics have to be boiled in clean HCL to start the recovery process, but I was hoping that AP would leave them intact so I can recover the pt/pd later.

Any experience or idea's on that ?

I use used AP or old AR solution that the copper has been dropped out of. I put the RAM in a plastic bucket and fill to just above the RAM. Put he container on heat (160F-190F) and let it set for about 12-18 hours and then remove the chips. You can take a screen and separate the chip's from the MLCC's once they are off of the RAM sticks.

Barren Realms 007 said: