Question on processing pins in AP

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
This is my first time trying to process any PM from scrap. I've done a bit of research over the past few months and have a pretty good idea on how to do this. I had about a half pound of plated pins from motherboards and such and I put them in a Mason jar and added 400ml HCL and 200ml H202. Its been going on 12 hours no or so and the color is a nice emerald green and i have gold particulate floating around in my solution. My question concerns this black slime/sludge floating just above the pins on the bottom. Is this normal? And what is this?

It is gold that went into solution and then reduced/cemented onto the base metal of your pins. You added too much H2O2 to start. All you need at the most is maybe 1 part in 20 to kickstart the copper reaction.

You should read LaserSteves document on AP

Ok, so what should be my next steps? Let the reaction continue a few days, allow it to settle then siphon/filter. Wash with HCl then move on to HCl/clorox? Is it going to be detrimental because I added to much H202?

I should start out by saying that I do not process pins with AP due to the slow speed of the reaction, but I do process many other things with it.

If I found myself in your position I would let the reaction run its course, but at the ratio you used the HCl and H2O2 in I am sure you dissolved some gold. Most if not all may cement out as the black powder but you need to be very careful and test your solution for gold with a stannous test before discarding your waste acid for safe disposal.

I highly recommend you read Lazersteve's document on AP this evening so you understand how AP works. It can be found on his website http://www.goldrecovery.us/