Recomendation needed

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrCrusher

Hi Everyone,

I wanted to thank everyone first and foremost for all the great information here. I have spent many hours here and studying. I needed a new hobby and watched some you tube. ( Streetips not the obvious danger dans ) Thought I would really like this.

Well I started gathering the basics, when I suddenly realized . . . WOW this is getting costly to get set-up right. Anyhow I have a reasonable lab going now and have done some basic processes. While I know from here really small batches are not very profitable, they are great experience.

I have had a few mistakes along the way. And by searching here have found what I needed ( at least as a noob I think so )

I just managed to get my last Item which was some gas tanks for melting. Since it was a long weekend I wanted to take all of my saved up filter papers with my small batches in them and put it all together for a melt.

I now have a situation I am not sure of the best way to resolve and could not find an answer for. Here is the situation.

I was processing a batch of GF material. I have been using Harold's process for that. So when I was doing my 2nd incineration I added all my saved filter papers and incinerated them with the batch I was running. I then did the HCL bath per the process. I then filtered and rinsed the material and put back in the beaker to dissolve the gold. I am getting low on Nitric so I thought I would dissolve with HCL and Bleach.

This is where I am now. The problem is the gold does not want to dissolve completely. The solution test positive for gold but there is still lots of gold in the beaker. Since I have never tried to dissolve this amount of gold at once before ( ~ 35 grams) What would be the best path to go from here?