Recovering gold from dirty AP

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WaywardKnight

Hi Everyone

I am just starting out and playing around with a few things. I've learned a lot about various reactions and basic processes by reading and experiencing.

I have a few questions for my current situation though.

Material: I'm playing around with pulverised fingers, <200g. I know chemcials are probably not the most effective way to refine poulverised scrap, but it was free material to play around with.

I mixed the powder in HCl and H202. I'm using 32% HCl and 50% H202. I'm using a 20-1 ratio. I started with 300ml of HCl and 15ml of H202.

The solution turned red when I first added the H202. I've since learned (thanks to this forum) that is due to impurities in the brand of HCl I'm using. I used an aquarium pump to agitate the solution. The solution went a dark black colour over a day, I assumed this was a result of it being saturated with copper. I filtered the powder. Rinsed it with hot water, let it dry (but was probably a bit impatient), and added the same amounts of HCl and H202.

Same results, so I figured I would do the same thing a third time. The solution went reddish again but this time didn't go dark. When I inspected the ppwder I could not longer see gold flakes in it.

I performed a stannous test and got the photo in the attached photo (yellow/orange colour being the original solution colour). It is important to note, I dont have a test solution for my stannous chloride. So I dont have anyway to test it is working. It seems like it is though.

My three questions are:
1) Should I use SMB or copper to drop the gold, noting there is likely many other metals in there still. How should I purify it? A HCl wash of all powders?