recovering gold from gold plated magnet wire

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

geoffB

I am a newbie to recovering gold so of course I have a difficult problem to overcome. (maybe it's not difficult- i am a newbie)
I have about 3 pounds of very fine (48AWG) gold plated magnet wire. The wire is 0.0015" diameter copper plated with gold and has a hard enamel coating. I think there is a signifigant amout of gold on all that wire. 3 pounds doesn't sound like much but because of it small diameter there is probably a few miles of wire length. This wire used to be used to connect the hard drive head to the electronics. The wire ran from the head along the arm and to the electronics. These wires were used many years ago but have since been replaced by a flex circuit PCB. I am looking for the best way to breakthrough the enamel coating and seperate the gold from the copper. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• IMG_4327.JPG
    IMG_4327.JPG
    3 MB
  • IMG_4336.JPG
    IMG_4336.JPG
    3.7 MB
Try soaking a small test batch in sodium hydroxide (caustic soda), this may eat through the enamel coating? Although I have never heard of "gold plated magnet wire" .?

i have a question.are you sure its gold?

ive never seen copper coated gold wire or any copper coated gold anything before.

why would anyone want to coat gold with copper?

Geo said:
i have a question.are you sure its gold?

ive never seen copper coated gold wire or any copper coated gold anything before.

why would anyone want to coat gold with copper?

I tend to agree with Geo but if your sure it has a gold content melt a small amount into a button and dissolve in diluted nitric acid, the melting should remove the enamel and the nitric will dissolve the copper so in theory what left should be gold.