recovering the gold from my first attempt at AP method

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tommylee1282

Hi all, so my first attempt at the AP turned into a total noob disaster about 9 months ago before i found this site and put everything down and started reading hoke and what i could on here. I got the idea to do recover gold from computers from mike the scrapper or one of those youtube guys, following theyre crappy instructions i cannot count on two hands the number of mistakes i made if i wanted pure gold. I started off good with gold fingers in a coffee pot about 2 pounds worth...i never took the gold out of the coffee pot i just threw in whole processors with the metal backing and pins solder and all so i not only mucked up my gold im beating it up from foils to fine grit everything went off the rails at that point i just kept getting more hcl and more hydrogen peroxide and wound up with 4 5 gallon bucket almost full of ap that has a bunch of sludge at the bottom and a coffee pot that had a good amount of gold on the bottom despite my mistakes the ap in the coffee pot and the buckets was blackish so i just kept adding peroxide didnt realize i was dissolving the gold not cleaning it then i dumped the coffee pot back into the ap and put copper wire into it hoping the gold would show up on it...and then i found this site...so after 9 months of learning and trimming solder off of gold pins id collected another 15 computers and had 3 pounds of trimmed pins and a pound of trimmed gold fingers and wanted it to start nice and easy recycling the AP after i filter it. starting with gold fingers trimmed pins and processor pins done in seperate mason jars...is this a dumb idea? should i just make some new ap? pretty poor so recycling the old ap is the idea that doesnt get my wife up my ass...the ap has returned to an emerald green color and all the slud