Reducing Cu Ag Au Pd and Pt

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hmm

I have never done any of this stuff before but have been thinking about getting these metals from scrap electronics for a year. It is hard to find information about getting them all, what order to do it, etc. What I have pieced together:

Put in Sulfuric Acid to dissolve metals like Iron, Aluminum, Tin, etc (I don't care for those, at least right now, but any ideas for these in addition would be cool)

Somehow get Copper and Silver out here.

Take the ewaste out and put in Aqua Regia to dissolve gold, palladium, platinum.

Add Urea to neutralize Nitric Acid.

Use Iron (ii) Sulfate, or SMB to reduce gold powder.

Add ammonium chloride to aqua regia to precipitate platinum as orange yellow colour (and then iridium if it is present)

Add potassium chlorate to aqua regia at a light boil that would precipitate palladium ammonium chloride.

Can someone please fill in missing steps for me. Will any chemicals added to reduction of the next metal (like the chemical added to reduce gold affect the reduction of platinum)? Is their better ways to go about this? Cost is not much of an issue as my chemistry teacher will let me use the school's supply (we have a lot of iron (ii) sulfate). How do I make the powder into the metallic form? I don't have a crucible, the art teacher's my let me use the kiln, would that work? Thanks for the help.

I'm fairly new here but that's definitely abbreviated. To outline all the missing steps would take a lot of time and space. My observation is that each one of the items you ask about have multiple threads. In essence, 90% of GRF is about what you have asked in a few lines.... Keith

Oh yeah, download Hoke, it will answer all of your questions and then some.