Reduction of Gold ions by reusable poly(tyramine)

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

djbenner2000

Hello everyone. This is my first thread/post on this forum. I am just getting into refining gold from electronic scrap. I have been doing a lot of research on this topic for the past month and came across an article from Saga University in Japan regarding the reduction of Gold ions using Tyramine. I was wondering if anyone on this forum has experimented using Tyramine to reduce their gold. From what I gathered from the article, Poly(tyramine)'s solubility is based on pH, and that it is not consumed by the reduction of gold ions. Has this reached the gold refining community yet?

EDIT: Here is the URL: http://pubs.acs.org/doi/abs/10.1021/ie100127g

To can only see the whole document if you purchase it, which I am not going to do.

When I see Amine in the chemical I think of ammonium group compounds.something about this also sounds like it is related to organic chemistry, or biological chemistry.

I have not done any study in this area, although I have seen many articles, discussing gold and this type of chemistry in medical, biological, or organic chemistry, I read some of them, but normally do not study, as organic chemistry (bio-chemistry) is a whole another field of chemistry than the inorganic or physical chemistry I have begun studying.

Like in electronics the studies (of some sciences), are just about worlds apart although some what related, like radio, digital, and basic electronics can be totally separate fields of study, many principles will overlap, but each almost have their own language.

If your interested I did quick goggled and came up with this, I will not research into it as I would have to learn more organic chemistry to be able to understand any details.