refine kt gold

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

hi i am new to the fourm and whould like to no the best way to refine kt gold i get around 500-1500grams of 10kt-22kt a week and whould like to start to refine at home and whould like to no the best way

Read through the forum... the question has been asked many times and answered many more times :wink:

Generally you inquart with silver, dissolve silver in nitric, then process what is left for gold, which will need to be refined a second time from what I understand to be pure. Of course, there is much more too it -but like I said, it is all in here. I know ive read it a few times (though never done it).

Happy reading

When you sell the gold as is, what percentage do you get? If you're getting about 97%, or better, I think you would lose money to refine it yourself, unless you don't count labor or getting rid of the waste.

yeah thanks for repy i acshally havent found a trust worthy refiner in vancouver b.c and last i checked they wanted fee around $200 plus and a fee to ship the gold to there shop and i tryed it onces and made shure all the gold waz 14kt stamped tested and i gave them 500gr in person they tested and said it waz good and they gave me a return of 272gram and charged the fee's and i dont no any private refiners so thought ide study for couple weeks built a nice fume hood and wanna get started i think with the price i pay for scrap i hope to get more doing it my self just whould like to learn from the pro's do things proper the first time do u think thats a good return on 500gr 14kt?

If the goal is to get cash back, try Kitco when its hallmarked...I think they have Canadian offices also though I have no idea what kind of postage arrangements are available in Canada. In US you can mail Kilos in flat rate boxes fairly inexpensively with insurance.