Rejuvinating Nitric

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joe

How do I recycle Nitric Acid? I've read through most of the posts, but I am still a little unclear. I hope I am not duplicating a previous post.

Bubbler-putting a fish bubbler in nitric will restore it.

Sodium Nitrate - what happens if I add sodium nitrate to used nitric?

Peroixide - will adding hydrogen peroixde rejuvinate nitric? If peroxide is aded would it also dissolve the gold?

It seems like at some point the nitric becomes saturated with metal and won't take anymore on. Is there a good way to completly remove all debris. Also, how does one go about adjusting PH?

I have little chemistry background. I plan to gain some education in the near future. In the meantime, thanks for the help.

Joe said:
How do I recycle Nitric Acid? I've read through most of the posts, but I am still a little unclear. I hope I am not duplicating a previous post.

Actually only a portion of the nitric will be recyclable, some of it goes up in smoke (NOx fumes- red vapors). If you have a vapor trap you can capture this and convert it to nitric also. The part that gets "stuck" to the metals is the part I'll focus on for purposes of this post.

Joe said:
Bubbler-putting a fish bubbler in nitric will restore it.
Wrong, but this is how you rejuvenate Acid Peroxide solutions that are saturated with Copper I ions and have become ineffective at dissolving copper. The air converts the Cu+ into Cu++ so it can react with more Cu0 (copper metal) again. A little HCl is required in the solution to jump start the reaction.

Joe said:
Sodium Nitrate - what happens if I add sodium nitrate to used nitric?
Wrong again, you would do nothing more than add more nitrate ions to the soup. You still need hydrogen to convert the nitrate ions back to nitric acid.

Joe said: