Removing gold from stainless steel jewelry

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rednight

I recently purchased a large amount of charms that are used for making bracelets. They are stainless steel and 18k. They are not plated, just a small piece of gold on the front of ever piece. I would like to remove the gold from them, but every site I visited only talked about plating and not actual gold with some content. I would say each piece has about .1-.2 grams on it. I was thinking of just melting the piece and trying to separate it but I'm worried that it would bind it together. Please help. I'm a beginner. Thank you in advance.

Welcome to the forum.
Do not try melting them it will cause a bigger and more expensive mess.
When you say large quantity how much do you mean?
You can try dissolving enough of the stainless using HCl that does work or put them into HCl and add small increments of nitric so as to dissolve the gold and leave the stainless mainly untouched, the last method does require good ventilation or a fume hood.

Being your first post, I would say do a whole lot of study before you do anything with chemicals, not only to get more understanding, but to keep yourself breathing healthy.

Melting steel is a lot harder than melting gold and it would only alloy if you did. But melting with silver as a collector could dissolve the gold in the silver while the iron would not dissolve. Silver and iron doesn't alloy.

If the iron is washed in nitric acid any gold containing silver would be dissolved and gold as a fine mud could be filtered off.
When all the charms are processed and the gold is collected by the molten silver, the silver could be dissolved in nitric, leaving the gold behind as a fine mud.