salt water nitric acid solution how do i recover platinum

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dezoray

I have just began the process and im new to leaching i dont have a problem desolving the gold or platinum its when i precipitate them out they are mixing together is there any way to precipitate the gold and platinum seperatly

It is near impossible to advise you with so few details as to the process you followed, let alone not knowing your source material.

SSN is primarily used for dissolving base metals,not platinum.
Added:I was not thinking when I wrote the above statement.SSN will in fact dissolve almost any metal,and very fast.The PDF I have states that you are not to use a orp meter with a platinum end because it WILL dissolve it.Sorry about the confusion.

SSN will dissolve a wide range of metals including gold, platinum and unfortunately whatever junk (base) metals you have in your mix. I think though SSN users are primarily interested in the PGMs.

Selective precipitation is tricky and usually needs a second leach and precipitation (with say AR) to get fairly pure metals.

I'd suggest you consider solvent extraction. There are a number of organic solvents that target (and can produce high-purity) gold. The best known is probably butyl diglyme (BDG), but there are many others including ethyl acetate, diethyl malonate, dichloromethane, etc. I'm currently using BDG, but will probably move to one of the others when my current stock runs out.

I know there are organic solvents that target just platinum, but I have no relevant experience; a google should turn up an example or two.

Would welcome any practical experiences of SSN and Solvent eXtraction (SeX <G>).

Hello dezoray,

Yes, there are methods to precipitate gold and/or platinum selectively from mixed acicic chloride solutions.