Scrap PCs complete process

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mikestaf35

Hello I'm a newbie and would like to apologise in advance if I am posting in the wrong section or asking something that has already been asked.
I own a computer repair shop in the UK and have realised I have been throwing money away for years now to the scrap man, so I have been looking in to either to recover the gold content from the PCs boards memory hdd etc or just sell the components on to a company for scrap.
So I'm looking for some advice on does anyone know of a good company in the UK who buy scrap components?
In your opinion is it more economical time and resources to recover and refine the gold myself of just sell the scrap components?
Finally does anyone know of a video (s) of the complete process of recovery the gold from components and then refining the gold? I have looked on you tube but am more confused now as I think there are multiple processes for refining different parts of the gold I.e. The gold fingers from memory, the gold contacts from memory channels, gold pins from CPUs etc

Ant help and advice for a newbie would be much appreciated, thank you

Welcome to the forum Mike. You may have been throwing money away for years, but it probably hasn't been much. It takes a lot of computer parts to get a little gold.

I don't have any recommendation for a buyer on your side of the pond, but there are a number of forum members who will probably be in contact with you.

If you already have a full time job, you'll probably be better off selling your scrap. Breaking things down, processing, and dealing with the waste take some dedication of time and money. It's a fun hobby, but unless you go large scale, it's not a big money maker.