Silver copper electrical contacts

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PPG4me

Hi guys I hope you guys can help me with this. I have a very large quantity of electrical contacts there made up of copper with the contact point being silver. There very difficult to separate them so what I'm looking for is the best process to refine these in quantity.
I'm thinking probably a electro refining but I'm pretty new to this.

Thank you in advance for your help

Brad

Sit back there, cowboy. If you're serious, then you have a lot of work to do. Mostly reading. Do yourself a huge favor and put everything aside until you know exactly what you need to do. That may prevent you from losing values in the long run. As long as your values are safely stored in a box on a shelf, you won't lose any. Start by reading Hoke's book. It's a free download here on the forum. Then read the sections of the forum dealing with safety and waste disposal. Recovering all the silver and gold in the world won't do you a bit of good if you, a family member, or neighbor dies from the fumes or the chemicals you are using.

Many people just like you have jumped in and started experimenting only to make a huge mess that they have to dig themselves out of. In the long run, their mistakes have cost the time, money, and the chemicals which they bought and didn't need. Trust me on this because I speak from experience. The forum is full of posts just like yours from others who have made the same mistakes.