Silver Digestion in Dilute Nitric Question

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DaleCarr103

Hi Guys,

I have a couple of questions concerning the Silver digestion. Not sure if I'm just expecting something different or if I may be doing something wrong.

I mostly digest .925 Silver to run in a Silver Cell. I use the Cold Nitric Recipe and have had no trouble making over 10 batches and experimenting with it. I studied the forum yesterday again and read that some of the members were evaporating the Cold recipe to achieve a little higher percentage of Nitric. I tried this today and it seemed to produce stronger results.

If I am deluting this recipe 50/50 and it is only 35% to start with is it even strong enough to do the job?
I figure my needs based on the 1 ml per Silver gram and 3.5ml per copper. I have yet to get close to digesting the amount of .925 that I wanted to. ( I may be expecting it to work faster than it does).
How long should it take 1ml of solution to digest 1ml of Silver?
I've tried it at many different temperatures but have tried to stay away from the boiling point. Although it does boil sooner with the watch glass on. (Stops Boiling when I take it off). I do get the Brown nasty fumes and the reaction "Looks" good just seems to be alot slower process than I expect. I searched Hokes Book forever and read till my eyes hurt trying to find some answers so if you could shed some light on this I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks
Dale

If you don't know the standard strength of nitric, you need more knowledge, before further use. Read a lot. My first months here were as much a college course, as anything I ever studied, before, or since.