Silver Nitrate Electrolyte Question

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hfrank

Hi, I am very new to the world of silver refining but am very interested in starting my own silver cell. My first pressing question is this: Can I use silver nitrate crystals dissolved in distilled water as my silver nitrate electrolyte as opposed to dissolving pure silver in nitric acid? If so is this a bad idea or is it as practical as dissolving the silver would be? Thanks to anyone reading this

Hi, I am very new to the world of silver refining but am very interested in starting my own silver cell. My first pressing question is this: Can I use silver nitrate crystals dissolved in distilled water as my silver nitrate electrolyte as opposed to dissolving pure silver in nitric acid? If so is this a bad idea or is it as practical as dissolving the silver would be? Thanks to anyone reading this
I can't see why not, but what are you going to do for topping up and such?
The reason most people use Silver and Nitric, is that they have control and can make more as needed.
It is also possible to run it on Sterling.

Edit
Dave beat me to it :)

I can't see why not, but what are you going to do for topping up and such?
The reason most people use Silver and Nitric, is that they have control and can make more as needed.
It is also possible to run it on Sterling.

Edit
Dave beat me to it :)
When topping off is it a matter of just adding more electrolyte to the cell as it gets lower or do I need to monitor the exact levels I’m adding and keep an eye on specific things in the solution?

When topping off is it a matter of just adding more electrolyte to the cell as it gets lower or do I need to monitor the exact levels I’m adding and keep an eye on specific things in the solution?
Ideally speaking you need to monitor both Silver concentration and how contaminated it is.