silver reverse electroplating cell????

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

borostmcbarna

Hi Guys.This is Thomas from Germany.
I am doing a lot of experiments with silver stripping methodes with reverse electroplating method but i can find any Electrolit CELL that realy works,and the right anode materials.
I am kinda new in this business,so i am trying to do my best.but as it seems i need a little bit help here.Thank you very much.Cherioooos everibody

I tryed with chlorine solution,with hidrochloric acid with sodium bicarbonate solution i heard it from somewhere... with all kinds of anode materials and voltage but it never hapens anything,once what i made was some sord of colloidal silver with water but that is nothing,it barely comes any silver off.I saw a video on youtube with a guy stripping gold from gold plated necklaces,jewelery using sulfuric acid as a CELL and a lead cathode,i was wondering if the same works with silver to...It seems pretty cool what he does with the gold...Anyway i am still looking a wayx to strip silver without using nitric acid,because it is pretty toxic and fumes well,so that is why i am looking forward to test electrolysis methode or any other way to strip or dissolve silver plating.
Thank you

borostmcbarna
The information you seek you have found here on the forum, but it will take work on your part to learn from the information provided here.

Much of your question depends on if you have fairly pure silver as anode, or mostly base metals with some silver-plating on how you would proceed.