silver sugar-lye method where is my mistake?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kfadrat

Hi guys,
i am brand new to the refining "stuff" so I thought I will try to refine silver with the sugar lye method. However after 3 tries, the best efficiency was 85% and the lowest was about 10%. This is what i do, maybe somebody will find the mistake and correct me on it, so this is what i did last time, when the efficiency was about 10%:

1. Two coins that are 0,625 Ag and 0,375 Cn (total weight 29 grams) added to a beaker with 200ml of destilled water and 50ml of nitric acid (65%). After some time i added 10ml of nitric more to dissolve everything. Kept on stove with max heat.

2. After the coins are dissolved I let the solution cool down a bit (to about 60-70 c), then added 38grams of HCl dissolved in about 180ml of destilled water. After the solver chloride stopped precipitating i added additional 5 grams of HCl just to be 100% sure that all of the cloride precipitated from the solution.

3. I rinced the chloride with desitlled water 8 times untill there was no blue/green colour in the solution. All the waste i pured to a bucket and added a handfull of HCl just to be 100% sure that i precipitated all of the cloride, nothing new formed.

4. To a beaker with silver cloride i started adding NaOH untill there was no white chloride present, total was 180grams (in 8 batches). I was stirring vigorously during the adding, mixing with a glass rod, total time of mixing about 15 minutes. No more white prcipitate was present after that.

5. I added total of 100grams of sugar(sacharose) in 2 batches. During this step a mirror started forming on the beaker. Img: https://imgur.com/mPHZBMT
Total time of mixing with a stainless steel blender was about 5-7 minutes.