Sodium nitrate for silver help

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rfran7788

Instead of nitric acid can I use Sodium nitrate for refining silver...
or are they the same

Nitric acid, HNO3, is an acid and a liquid.
Sodium nitrate, NaNO3, is a salt and a solid.

Not the same thing. You can use sodium nitrate with sulfuric acid and make nitric acid. If you use a distilling rig you can make pure nitric acid. Without distilling the acid you would get some sulfuric acid in the mix and it can make silver refining problematic...
I haven't made nitric acid myself so I have no experience there. I've always used bought nitric acid for my silver refining needs.

Göran

You can use the Sodium nitrate to make nitric acid. Search for "cold Nitric" or "Killing two birds with one stone". As stated by g_axelsson in his post, you may run into problems if it is not distilled and working with silver. I have made it several times by the cold method and I would recommend studying the whole process several times before even trying it. It isn't all that hard, but there are serious dangers involved. Be sure also you understand the problems you may face when working with silver in non distilled nitric or you may find you have many more questions than this one.

rfran7788 said:
isnt there HNO3 in NaNO3

Not that it would help you, but in fact you are to some degree right as soon as you dissolve it in water. But you also have NaOH, then and the base and the acid are at their equivalence point. Which means, there are as much Na+ as there are NO3-. Since NaOH is a strong base and HNO3 is a strong acid, the equivalence point is equal to the neutral point (pH7). That means, there are as much H3O+ (acid) as OH- (base). Yes, you have HNO3, but it is neutralized by NaOH.