Solution still light brown after drop

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alliedft

I am new to refining. I used ap for foils, dissolved with acid/bleach, heated slightly and let sit over night. The solution was clear and yellow, after I added I tsp dissolved smb I got a drop after 1-2 minutes, I allowed to settle 8 hours and solution is still light brown. I have checked with stannous and no gold is in solution so I filtered and refined 2 more times. Solution is still staying slightly brown. What would help to clear it up so I can get all the gold down to drain. Please help. Thanks

How much gold was in solution? If it was only a very small amount it may take time to settle. I would start by stirring it. Be carefully as gold powders seem to stick to everything. It may be the off gassing of the SMB that is keeping your powders suspended. A picture would be helpful.

I'm guessing maybe half a gram or a little better. It may be the gasses because I'm sure I used excessive smb for what I was planning on recovering. Would it help to heat the solution to help drive off the excess gas

I have added pictures of the before, after adding and then after sitting 6-8 hours

Attachments

• 20200302_153415.jpg
    20200302_153415.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 266
  • 20200302_153351.jpg
    20200302_153351.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 265
  • IMG_20200302_102643.jpg
    IMG_20200302_102643.jpg
    65.6 KB · Views: 266
  • 20200301_214042.jpg
    20200301_214042.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 265
I know those vases very well. I even use a few still for settling just such powders.