Something odd growing in my silver cell please help.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xdxninjax

Hello. First I have learned so much, so thank you. I am a beginner with no background in doing silver refining. So I have read and watched lots of info. Sreetips is my main go to for info. I am using the stainless steel bowl method. My first harvest was amazing. The only issue I was having was I was not quite getting to 1 Amp at 3.5 volts. I filtered the nitrate and put in a new basket. The first 24 hr was going like normal. I took a look this morning and all was fine but a couple hours later I find this thick layer of muck (I think its silver chloride). My questions are.

How did this happen? I didn't use any tap water and the %90 shot I used was rinsed with distilled water.

What do I do next? Do I filter it out and use copper and makes some silver cement and make some new nitrate?

Thank you in advance for any advice.

Attachments

• 20210404_175250.jpg
    20210404_175250.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 275
  • 20210404_175250.jpg
    20210404_175250.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 275
  • 20210401_162914.jpg
    20210401_162914.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 275
When I found it it looked like it was coming from the anode falling down and making a pile along with coating the sides for the bowl and its white in color. Like I said I am a total newbie but willing to learn.

It was new filter bag. I am using the vacuum bag sreetips uses. There could be a chance of a hole. I pulled the anode and stoped the process. I will look tomorrow.

My real question is what do I do next? Do I filter the unknown material out and cement out the silver and start over?

Attachments

• 16175907716445965838158886903899.jpg
    16175907716445965838158886903899.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 249