starting to recover gold

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Catxyoli

hello again after searching and joining information im going to try gold recovery i have a poor mens recipee wich ill use basicly to recover gold only from CPU chips and cards like MBoards (correct me if its not good, Poors Recipe for all this) well my question is about metabissulfit , its very hard to find it where i live and im a student , could i use Baking soda NaHCO3 ??? please help i dont understand much of quemistry (i wish i had studyed properly when i had that chance...

heres the recipe posted by Lazersteve somewhere in the forum:

You are using the poor mans AR recipe.

The document you posted is a variation of Steve Spevaks, using his photos and most of his verbiage. It's not the original and is missing some information.

Here's how I proceed with Poor man's AR:

1. Remove lids (top and bottom) from ceramic cpus using MAPP gas.
2. Add cpu's into large beaker or coffee pot.
3. Fill with HCl (31.45% approx 10 M). Add just enough to cover the cpus.
4. Place small ceramic saucer on top of pot to prevent vapor from escaping.
5. Heat to just below boiling.
6. Add in 2 teaspoons of sodium nitrate.
7. Boil for 30 minutes or until brown fumes are no longer visible.
8. Repeat steps 6 and 7 until all metals are dissolved.
9. Remove ceramic saucer and let the solution evaporate down to 25% of it's original volume, or until salts form.
10. Add fresh HCl to expel nitric as brown vapors.
11. Repeat steps 9 and 10 two more times.
12. Dilute with equal volume of tap water.
13. Filter through packed funnel under vacuum until 100% free of sediment and suspended particles.
14. Add Sodium Meta Bisulfite to precipitate gold as brown powder.
15. Let settle and siphon liquid off brown powder.
16. Add enough water to cover brown powder.
17. Repeat steps 15 and 16 two more times.